Qué es el Sake - Licores Medellín

What is Sake


Sake is a traditional alcoholic beverage originating in Japan, commonly known as "rice wine." This elixir is created through the fermentation of rice and water, with the assistance of the fungus called koji and yeast. Although it is often compared to wine due to its fermentation process, sake has unique attributes that distinguish it among alcoholic beverages.

Sake offers a diversity of flavors, aromas and textures, with various types that suit different preferences. Its flavors range between sweet and dry, enriched with fruity, floral or earthy touches.

Sake plays an essential cultural role in Japan, being consumed on occasions such as religious ceremonies, festivals and celebrations. Its popularity extends to Japanese cuisine, accompanying traditional dishes such as sushi, sashimi and tempura. Globally, sake has gained recognition, being appreciated as a unique and versatile drink.

What types of sake are there?

Sake types are mainly classified based on two key factors:

  • The degree of polishing of the rice: The greater the polishing, the more delicate and fruity the flavor of the sake.
  • The use of distilled alcohol: The addition of distilled alcohol can enhance the flavor and stability of sake.

Based on the degree of polishing of the rice, various types of sake are distinguished:

  • Futsushu: The rice was polished at least 70%. It has a light and fruity flavor, being the most common.
  • Honjozo: The rice was polished at least 60%. Its flavor is fuller and fruitier than futsushu.
  • Ginjo: The rice was polished at least 40%. It stands out for its complex and fruity flavor.
  • Daiginjo: The rice was polished at least 50%. It represents the premium variety, with an exquisitely delicate and fruity flavor.

Depending on the use of distilled alcohol, they are classified as:

  • Junmai: Without addition of distilled alcohol. It offers a more complete and sophisticated flavor.
  • Honjozo: Small amount of distilled alcohol. It has a light and fruity flavor compared to junmai.

There are other types of sake:

  • Nigori: It is not filtered, resulting in cloudy sake. Its flavor is creamy and fruity.
  • Namazake: Unpasteurized sake, with a fresh and fruity flavor.
  • Koshu: Aged sake can offer a more complex flavor than young sake.

How is sake served?

Sake can be enjoyed cold, hot, or at room temperature. Lighter sakes, such as futsushu and honjozo, are served chilled. On the other hand, more complex ones, such as ginjo and daiginjo, are enjoyed at room temperature or even hot.

Sake brands:

Various sake brands have obtained international recognition for their quality and tradition. Some of the most notable ones include:

Dassai: Highly valued for its high-quality sake, offering a variety from fresh to aged.

Hakutsuru: One of the oldest brands, focused on quality and craftsmanship, with options from fresh to premium.

Gekkeikan: With 380 years of history, it offers a wide range from classic to modern.

Nanbu Bijin: Stands out for smooth and elegant sakes, made with water and local rice.

Kubota: Considered luxury, it offers refined and balanced sakes, appropriate for special occasions.

Tedorigawa: With an artisanal approach, it produces complex sakes rich in flavor.

Ozeki: Widely known and available internationally, with options for various tastes.

Kamoizumi: Specialist in cloudy and aged sakes, it offers unique experiences.

Kizakura: Innovative, produces unique and experimental sakes, such as fruit infusions.

Takara: In addition to sake, it offers other Japanese spirits, from light to rich.

Momokawa: Brand produced in the United States by the SakeOne company and is one of the main sake producers in North America. Momokawa is known for producing high-quality sake using traditional Japanese methods, but adapted to local conditions and tastes.

More articles

Comments (0)

There are no comments for this article. Be the first one to leave a message!

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published